We Hit the Bestseller Lists – Thank you all!

Good evening dear readers,

I’m pleased to report that Writers of the Future Volume 33 is ending its first full week on the market strong!


We are #6 on the Wall Street Journal’s bestseller list, #6 on Publishers Weekly’s bestseller list for trade paperbacks, and #46 on USA Today’s overall bestseller list!

I’ve always been more one for writing than for selling – but this in undeniably exciting. It’s the result of an incredibly strong team of writers, mentors, and publishing staff.

Since I blanked out on my thank-yous and started quoting Winston Churchill halfway through my awards ceremony speech, I thought I’d use this opportunity to make up for it. For the success of Writers of the Future Vol 33, I’d like to thank especially:

All the readers who still buy books. Especially the paper ones. Seriously. I know life is giving busier, but you’re what keeps our culture alive. I shall strive to remain one of you as long as I live!

My fellow Writers of the Future Vol 33 authors, who are all terribly kind, talented, and hardworking people. I could not be more honored to be part of this year’s cohort. Should you wish to find more of their work, these are:

Andrew Peery, Andrew L. Roberts, Anton Rose, David VonAllmen, Jake Marley, Molly Elizabeth Atkins, Ville Merilainen, Walter Dinjos, Doug C. Souza, Dustin Steinacker, Sean Hazlette, Stephen Lawson, and Ziporah Hildebrandt.

Previous years’ winners who have rallied to the support of us neophytes as we venture deeper into the publishing world. These include Martin L. Shoemaker, Kary English, Steve Pantazis, Brennan Harvey, Laurie Tom, and Matt Dovey.

The contest judges and awesome mentors who have generously volunteered their very valuable time to support and teach us. I could not be more thrilled to have met all of you, or more impressed with your determination to pay it forward.

Special thanks to David Farland, Tim Powers, Kevin J. Anderson, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Nancy Kress, Jody Lynn Nye, Mike Resnick, Robert J. Sawyer, Doug Beason, Larry Niven, Nnedi Okorafor, and Jerry Pournelle.

L. Ron Hubbard, for getting the big names in science fiction and fantasy onboard to support new writers, and for endowing this contest in perpetuity in his will.

Last, but definitely not least – last, in fact, only because I couldn’t wait to get the names of my fellow writers out there – the entire staff of Galaxy Press and Author Services, for making this such an amazing experience, and such a really meaningful assist for new writers.

Okay! I’m all thanked-out now.

No I’m not. Thanks again, everyone.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s